Subscription boxes. · Uncategorized

HATCHERY BOX. MARCH 2014

 Sweet and Spicy Box
Sweet and Spicy Box

image

PLEASE SEE.   http://shophatchery.com

My first Hatchery Box, and what lovely, tasty samples.  I love the concept of this box, introducing you to Artisan sauces, spices and other must haves to try.  Sample sizes are just right to really taste the product.  Everything arrived intact and beautifully packaged.

BIG ISLAND BEES Ohia Lehua Honey.  Sweet, but not too sweet.  Who knew honey could be so delicate and delicious tasting.  I cannot stress enough how unique and tasty this honey is.  It comes in a creamy texture, which threw me off at first, but after tasting it I was ready to not only consume it, but rub it all over myself.  Big island Bee are the virtuosos of honey production.  Their bees must be magical.  Seriously, I have already ordered a full size.

POTLICKER KITCHEN Spiced Red Wine Jelly.  At first I was disappointed that I didn’t receive the Strawberry Chipotle Jam until I tried this.  Who knew?  For me, not a toast jelly.  I grilled some lamb chops and placed a dollop of jam on each chop.  There was jam thieving at the dinner table, and cleaning of the jar with fingers, the jam went so well with the meat.  It tasted wonderful on my finger too.

LA FUNDIDORA Fuego Salsa.  Wish there had been more.  You can taste the freshness of the ingredients.  Went perfectly with black chips.  They call her a salsa alchemist and it is an apt term for someone who can take such simple ingredients and combine them into a precious taste.

CALIVIRGIN Jalapeño Garlic Olive Oil.  You forget how good fresh olive oil is.  The added ingredients were perfect.  Made a small avocado salad and drizzled this oil on. Wow!

The BBQ is scheduled for tonight, so I will let you know how it cooks up.

OLE MAN’S Original Blend Spice Rub.  Haven’t cooked with it yet, pork tonight.  The spice blend smells wonderful and finger to mouth is very tasty.  Can’t wait to rub it in and cook it up.  Will update later. Update:  Just the right balance of savory and spicy with just a touch of sweetness.  Went perfect on grilled pork chops.  Left over rub was sprinkled on popcorn.  Yum!

CAUSEY’S BBQ  Sweet and Smoky Sauce.  Finger tested this award winning sauce and decided it will grace the chicken wings tonight.  Every time I open the fridge the marinating wings smell fantastic.  Will update later.  Update: just the perfect amount of smoky without being too cloying or overpowering.   Not too sweet which I fins most BBQ sauce to be.  Overall A+ rating.

Leave a Reply

